Holding You During a Thunderstorm

I love holding you during a thunderstorm
While listening to the rain.
Watching shadows dance in the darkened room,
When lightning flashes once again.
I love splashing in the puddles
Once gray clouds have passed us by
And witnessing the sun reappear again
To help us and our world get dry.

I love holding you during a thunderstorm
Feeling you squeeze a little bit tighter with every boom.
I know eventually you will be letting go,
But, hopefully, none too soon.
I love the smell of a storm approaching,
The freshness in the air after she leaves.
God does not gift us with storms too often,
Just every now and then if you please.

I love holding you during a thunderstorm
One of the few times you still tolerate.
I love it best early in the morning,
Or in the evening when it’s getting late.
If holding should lead to caressing,
And caressing lead to something more,
Then the thunderstorm will have to pass us by
After I close the bedroom door.

Leave a comment